Beanies, beanies, beanies

I finally finished the orange beanie that I have been working on for the past month. Again I had decided to try the traveling rib stitch which is an 8 row repeating pattern. I was really excited about how the colors worked together and was thinking of keeping this particular beanie until I finished it off and tried it on. Not a chance. With my hair, I need something that is a tish larger and so I will be keeping the bright yellow one with the maroon strip. Here is a picture of all the beanies I have in the stash at this time.

Main stash of beanies

Main stash of beanies

Top of the recent orange beanie

Top of the recent orange beanie

I was happy to see that the pattern actually twisted into place. I was concerned about what would happened to it as I began to decrease. It took a bit of thought, but I worked the ribs by doing the decrease on the rib, such as knitting 2 together then purling 2 together then in the next row decreasing each one into the stitch next to them until two ribs were eliminated.

Orange and striped beanie

Orange and striped beanie

Back seam

Back seam

Amazingly they seem to twist together at the seam. I think that I may have sewed it up not exactly on track at that top most white row, but it will just have to do. I really like how this variegated color seems to blend into the orange even though there is no actual orange in that yarn.

The pattern I used was to cast on 74 stitches of orange then do 12 rows in a 2 stitch rib. Next I did 6 rows in stockingnet with the other yarn. After the contrast I switched back to the orange yard with the traveling rib pattern. This pattern repeats every 8 rows and it is very important to keep track of which row you are in or the twist will change direction on you. It starts with a knit 2 purl 2. The entire pattern is a knit 2 purl 2, but with a twist. Rows 1 and 2 begin with knit 2 purl 2, Row 3: knit 1, purl 2, knit 2 and so on until the last stitch is a knit 1; Row 4: purl 1, knit 2, purl 2 until the last stitch which is a purl 1. Rows 5-6: purl 2, knit 2. Row 7 is the same as 4 and Row 8 is the same as 3. Love working on this pattern. It is complicated enough to keep you thinking yet easy enough that all you need to know is which row you are on so you know how to start it.

My next issue will be to knit up a few more smaller beanies. I think that I will just make some random sizes. We are planning to give them away from our church to schools who might have children without hats and such this winter. Since I am not so great with sizes, this will be a perfect place for me to give away my beanies, and it will be a great way for us to use up the tub of yarn that we found in the church basement. I might just start with something like this little one. I made it backwards to see if it was possible to go from the top and work down. This way I could increase instead of decrease. I found it to be a little harder for the hands, but maybe a little work is what the arthritis needs now and then. Also it kept me thinking. Funny though, this hat is 70 stitches around and not nearly as big as the others that I started with 70 stitches and decreased. Not sure how that happened. If anyone has an idea of why that works that way, please let me know.

Little beanie inside out to show seams.

Little beanie inside out to show seams.

Hi: I would love to hear what you have to say on the post.

