Craft area cleaned

Sewing area.

Sewing area.

I am so excited about having taken the time to clean up my craft area, I just want to get started working on something. I was in school substitute teaching for the first time this year and I was listening to another substitute talk all about how she is having an unused bedroom converted into a sewing room with built in shelves and cabinets and on and on, and I was almost drooling, when I realized that will never be me. As much as I would love a devoted craft room, I am going to be content with a devoted office where I can come to blog and work on my messages and read and study and such.

Under the table

Under the table

My craft area will just have to be a part of my bedroom/sitting room and I am good with that. Besides it has cable and my stereo and that means plenty of entertainment while I am at work. I also don’t have neat wonderful cabinets that allow my to close the door on whatever I am working on. I guess I will just have to live with that. I like to make due with what is available. And actually my goal is to down size the amount of projects that I am doing. I have this idea that what is here needs to be completed, and if there is time (left in my life) we will talk about adding more. For now it is about finishing what is already here. And as you check out the pictures below you might notice there is more than enough here.

Yarn tower

Yarn tower

The yarn tower now stands outside of my closet instead of inside it. The ironing board and a few other boxes and popcorn tins are inside full of yarn and needles and material and all sorts of things. I need to finish up by labeling the tins so I don’t have to open them each time I am looking for something. The tower is really an unorganized mess but only so much could be accomplished in one day. I do plan to empty it, lay it on the table and refill it in a better color coded manner. In the meantime I will try to use up some of the yarn so there is less to sort.

The doorway is cleared.

The doorway is cleared.

 

This is probably my favorite part of the room. The item on the tin is a storage unit for the old fashioned rolls of film that go into a manual slide projector. I bought it at a school auction years ago. I use the top drawer for my thread and a lower drawer for a set of acrylic paints. I will add things as I figure out what fits. Before I cleaned out yesterday, I had an old baby changing station in this area and all of the items were stored there (oh yes, I need to call my sister and ask where she wants me to deliver that). It was actually a fairly good idea at the time, but I began to find that it was hard to access items. The sorting and rearranging of yesterday should help me find what I need, and make it a little easier to get some things accomplished. Besides, the plants have been crying for a little more light, and sitting in the doorway should give them just what they need. Now if spring would only hurry, I will get them outside and have even more room. Happy crafting to you, and Happy Valentine’s Day. What have you been crafting that you can share????

Hi: I would love to hear what you have to say on the post.

